10 Alternates To Wheat If You Have Celiac Disease

3. Millet


Millet is a grain that has a sweet nutty flavor, and considered one of the most non-allergenic foods available. It’s one of the few grains which is alkalizing to the body, which makes it extremely easy to digest, with no side effects. Millet is a grain like seed which is gluten-free.

It’s full of nutrients such as calcium, magnesium, manganese, tryptophan, fiber, phosphorus, several B vitamins, and antioxidants. Millet can be enjoyed as a breakfast porridge, or added to salads and soups. Its brown rice like texture, is also an ideal ingredient to add to casseroles or Asian dishes.

2. Buckwheat


Buckwheat is a seed which is often mistakenly considered to be a grain. Buckwheat despite its name, is also not a wheat. It’s completely gluten-free, so it can be consumed by those who has celiac disease, or has gluten sensitivities.

Buckwheat is high in fiber and protein, while also being rich in iron, manganese, magnesium, zinc, phosphorus, and copper. It’s also an excellent source of vitamin B6, niacin, pantothenic acid, folate, thiamin, and choline. Buckwheat seeds are loaded with antioxidants such as rutin, catechins, and tannins, often referred to as superfoods.

1. Quinoa


Quinoa is a popular wheat alternative, which is also a pseudo-cereal, which means that it’s a seed, that’s prepared and consumed like a grain. It’s gluten-free, so it can be eaten by those who are sensitive to wheat or gluten. Pure quinoa is also safe for those with celiac disease. What quinoa has is a crunchy texture along with a nutty flavor.

Quinoa is found to be a complete protein source, as what it contains are all the essential amino acids, along with vital vitamins and minerals, such as phosphorus, copper, manganese, iron, folate, magnesium, and zinc.

error: Content is protected !!